top of page

    Quotes of Year

    Here are all the quotes that have been featured in the newsletter to date:


    2020


    MAY: Spiritual Mindedness

    "If you look at the world, you'll be distressed. If you look within, you'll be depressed. If you look at God you'll be at rest.”​

    ​― Corrie Ten Boom, Corrie's family used their home as a refuge for Jews during the German occupation of Holland and helped hundreds escape Nazi persecution and death.


    JUNE: Provision

    "...Opening your front door and greeting neighbors with soup, bread, and the words of Jesus are the most important. Who knows but that this simple task of sharing the gospel where you are, wherever you are, might just be used by God to change the world.”

    Rosaria Butterfield, excerpt from The Gospel Comes with a House Key, page 197. Rosaria's life was radically changed when a Christian couple invited her home for dinner.


    JULY: Love One Another

    "The tight little segregated life, always spent with people your own age, economic group, educational background, and culture tends to bring an ingrown, static sort of condition. Fresh ideas, reality of communication and shared experiences will be sparks to light up fires of creativity, especially if the people spending time together are a true cross-section of ages, nationalities, kindred, and tongues."

    Edith Schaeffer, excerpt from The Hidden Art of Homemaking, page 202. In 1948, Edith and her husband Francis moved from the U.S. to the heart of war-torn Europe as missionaries. In 1955, they opened their home, L'Abri ("Shelter"), as a ministry to travellers and a forum to discuss God and the meaning of life.


    AUGUST: Our Father

    “Restlessness and impatience change nothing except our peace and joy. Peace does not dwell in outward things, but in the heart prepared to wait trustfully and quietly on Him who has all things safely in His hands.”

    Elisabeth Elliot, Elisabeth's husband, Jim Elliot, was killed by Huaorani people of Ecuador in 1956. Elisabeth stayed on the gospel mission, working at first with the Quichua people, and then two years with the Huaorani. She wrote over a dozen books in her lifetime, including Let Me Be a Woman, Through Gates of Splendor, and Shadow of the Almighty. The never before published, Suffering Is Never for Nothing, was released in 2019.


    SEPTEMBER: Teach Them Diligently

    “By God’s grace I can resist the temptation to treat my children as interruptions to my will for my life. Instead, God enables me to treat my children as precious gifts he is using to shape me into his image according to his will for my life."

    Gloria Furman, Gloria lives in Dubai where her husband, Dave, serves as the pastor of Redeemer Church. The quote is from her book, Treasuring Christ When Your Hands Are Full: Gospel Meditations for Busy Moms.



    Photography courtesy of Victoria Bilsborough/Unsplash

    OCTOBER: Conflict

    Then Esther spoke to Hathach and ordered him to reply to Mordecai: “All the king’s servants and the people of the king’s provinces know that for any man or woman who comes to the king to the inner court who is not summoned, he has but one law, that he be put to death, unless the king holds out to him the golden scepter so that he may live. And I have not been summoned to come to the king for these thirty days.” They related Esther’s words to Mordecai.​Then Mordecai told them to reply to Esther, “Do not imagine that you in the king’s palace can escape any more than all the Jews. For if you remain silent at this time, relief and deliverance will arise for the Jews from another place and you and your father’s house will perish. And who knows whether you have not attained royalty for such a time as this?”​Then Esther told them to reply to Mordecai,16 “Go, assemble all the Jews who are found in Susa, and fast for me; do not eat or drink for three days, night or day. I and my maidens also will fast in the same way. And thus I will go in to the king, which is not according to the law; and if I perish, I perish.”

    Esther 4:10-16, Esther was queen of Persia during the 486–465 BC reign of Ahasuerus/Xerxes I. Her faith and courage in the midst of conflict saved countless lives.


    NOVEMBER: Psalms, Hymns, and Spiritual Songs

    "So, as those who have been chosen of God, holy and beloved, put on a heart of compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience bearing with one another, and forgiving each other, whoever has a complaint against anyone; just as the Lord forgave you, so must you do also. In addition to all these things put on love, which is the perfect bond of unity. Let the peace of Christ, to which you were indeed called in one body, rule in your hearts; and be thankful. Let the word of Christ richly dwell within you, with all wisdom teaching and admonishing one another with psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs, singing with thankfulness in your hearts to God. Whatever you do in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks through Him to God the Father."

    Colossians 3:12-17


    DECEMBER: Light

    “For God so loved the world, that He gave His only Son, so that everyone who believes in Him will not perish, but have eternal life. For God did not send the Son into the world to judge the world, but so that the world might be saved through Him. The one who believes in Him is not judged; the one who does not believe has been judged already, because he has not believed in the name of the only Son of God.And this is the judgment, that the Light has come into the world, and people loved the darkness rather than the Light; for their deeds were evil. For everyone who does evil hates the Light, and does not come to the Light, so that his deeds will not be exposed. But the one who practices the truth comes to the Light, so that his deeds will be revealed as having been performed in God.”

    John 3:16-21


    2021


    JANUARY: Trust

    “Life is pitiful, death so familiar, suffering and pain so common, yet I would not be anywhere else. Do not wish me out of this or in any way seek to get me out, for I will not be got out while this trial is on. These are my people, God has given them to me, and I will live or die with for Him and His glory.”

    Gladys Aylward, missionary to China, 1936-46; and Taiwan, 1958-70


    FEBRUARY: Love Your Neighbor

    "We love, because He first loved us.”

    1 John 4:19


    MARCH: Wait on the Lord

    “Often a Christian man or woman falls prey to that cruel and vexatious spirit, wondering how to find marriage, who, when, where? It is on God that we should wait, as a waiter waits--not for but on the customer--alert, watchful, attentive, with no agenda of his own, ready to do whatever is wanted. 'My soul, wait thou only upon God; for my expectation is from him.' (Ps. 62:5 KJV) In Him alone lie our security, our confidence, our trust. A spirit of restlessness and resistance can never wait, but one who believes he is loved with an everlasting love, and knows that underneath are the everlasting arms, will find strength and peace.”

    Elisabeth Elliot, Quest for Love: True Stories of Passion and Purity


    APRIL: Unexpected Grace

    “Give me the Love that leads the way The Faith that nothing can dismay The Hope no disappointments tire The Passion that'll burn like fire Let me not sink to be a clod Make me Thy fuel, Flame of God.”

    Amy Carmichael, missionary to India from 1901 to 1951. She cared for orphans and children rescued from being trafficked in Hindu temples.


    MAY: To Live is Christ

    “Lord, I give up my own plans and purposes, all my own desires, hopes and ambitions, and I accept Thy will for my life. I give up myself, my life, my all, utterly to Thee, to be Thine forever. I hand over to Thy keeping all of my friendships; all the people whom I love are to take second place in my heart. Fill me now and seal me with Thy Spirit. Work out Thy whole will in my life at any cost, for to me to live is Christ. Amen."

    Betty Stam, missionary to China from 1931 to 1934. Before she and her husband were martyred, she was able to hide their three-month-old daughter who was later found and carried to safety.


    Are you fluent in a language other than English and interested in translating these quotes? Please submit your translation in the contact box below.

    Comments


    bottom of page