top of page

    The Gift of Marriage

    by Rachel Chindongo


    Trusting in the Lord is a test of faith. We trust God for the sun to shine, and for the very air we breathe. Those things we don’t think twice about. We trust God to take care of everyday needs, but what about the things hoped for, the things unseen?


    Sometimes we don’t see that the same God who causes the hair to grow on our heads has the same power to meet every single need, even when we don’t see or experience it yet. It’s the invisibility that tends to cloud our view from seeing the faithfulness of God. We sometimes think some things are too big to provide, which tests our understanding of who God is.


    We think, "Yes, God will protect me today, I trust that He protects His sheep like a good shepherd, but I am not sure if he will give me a husband."

    Before I was married, I knew that in time, the Lord who is faithful, would provide a spouse, but my faith was tested too. Like many single women, I began to wonder and become impatient. It seemed that time ticked along merrily, and I began to feel dragged along by it.


    With no suitors in sight, or the wrong suitors in sight, it’s easy for a single woman to wonder if her prayers will be answered and think, “maybe marriage is not meant for me”.

    The words of the Psalmist are comforting in such times and remind us who God is. Psalm 37:3-4 says “Trust in the Lord, and do good; Dwell in the land, and feed on His faithfulness. Delight yourself also in the Lord, And He shall give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the Lord, Trust also in Him, And He shall bring it to pass.”


    Photo Courtesy of Rachel Chindongo
    Photo Courtesy of Rachel Chindongo
    Only when our relationship with God is precedent in our lives can we say “Christ is all I need. Even if He doesn’t give me anything else, He is all I need.”

    Only once this truth was etched in my heart, did the Lord reveal things about my heart that showed me that I was not fully relying on Him in all areas of my life. I longed to serve God, but how could I serve without trusting him in all things?


    Psalm 145:16 tells us of the Lord, “You open Your hand and satisfy the desire of every living thing.” He knows our desires, and more than anything, a heart set on Christ, desires Christ. Every other desire should submit to that ultimate desire. The Lord showed me that if my number one thought is to get married, then I am missing the bigger picture, because God should be my utmost desire. His promise in Psalm 145 is still true. He will give us what we need. The question is, are we willing to submit to Him even when He doesn’t provide a husband? Will we be content with Christ and Christ alone?


    Coming to that realization allowed me to focus on what God was doing in my life at that moment, and prayed that I would glorify Him. Life will not come to a standstill while I wait. I needed to pursue Him. I completed my Masters degree, by the Lord’s grace, while working a 9-5 job in the corporate world and applying for a Ph.D., the Lord brought my husband into my life. I thank the Lord for His provision during that time and season. It was a time when the Lord was reminding me of his love and faithfulness, and that He should be the first desire in my life. The Lord had opened up so many areas in which I could serve Him, and bringing my future husband into my life was not only a fulfillment of a personal desire, but part of a bigger desire to serve the Lord.


    God knew from the beginning of time who I would marry. Little did I know, that my future husband would come from another country, and that the Lord would have me relocate! Trusting the Lord made all the difference. Pursuing that Ph.D. was not my ultimate desire, and when the Lord closed that door, I knew it was His plan. Trusting the Lord and being led by His gracious hand, I received the gift of a loving husband.


    God has provided the ultimate gift to all mankind: His Son Jesus Christ, to reconcile man to Himself, which is our greatest need. What more a godly husband?


    Rachel lives in Malawi, and is married to the love of her life. Together, they have two beautiful and lively daughters whom they seek to raise in the fear and admonition of the Lord. She plays the piano and guitar, and loves reading, writing, as well as counseling and disciplining young women. Please submit any questions or comments for Rachel in the contact form below.

    Are you fluent in a language other than English and interested in translating this article? Please submit your translation in the contact box below.

    Comments


    bottom of page