top of page

His

by Shanee


My family has been living and serving in South Asia as cross-cultural workers for the last 15 years. On a recent trip back to the US, I noticed that tattoos have become more common than they used to be. I do not have a tattoo, but if I were to get one, I know exactly what it would be. It would simply be a three-letter word:

His.

There’s a very specific reason why I choose this word. This small word cured me of a lifelong "fear of man” problem. I cared too much about having the approval and admiration of others. God has done a supernatural work in my heart, setting me free from this habitual and sinful way of thinking. The solution, the cure, to my “fear of man” problem has been truly embracing my identity as God’s daughter.


His.

It is not just knowing this truth, but embracing it so much that it becomes enough for me. I don’t need to keep proving myself. My identity as His daughter is so strong and secure that it’s all I need.

God used a year-long study of the book of Isaiah in 2018 to convince me of my identity as His daughter. Sisters, listen to these four truths from your Heavenly Father:

  1. You are chosen by God: His servant and His friend. Therefore, do not fear! He is always with you. He will strengthen you, help you, and uphold you with His righteous right hand. He is right beside you, holding your hand (Isaiah 41:8-10, 13-14).

  2. Fear not, for God has redeemed you. He has called you by name; you are His. You are precious in His eyes, honored, and loved by Him (Isaiah 43:1-4).

  3. When the Holy Spirit is poured out on you and you are saved, you will be so sure of your new identity in Christ that you will say, "I am the Lord's." You will even write on your hand, "The Lord's.”” (Isaiah 44:5).

  4. Can a woman forget her nursing child? Even a mother may forget, but God will never forget you. Behold, He has engraved your name on the palms of His hands (Isaiah 49:15-16).

Our identity as followers of Jesus can truly be summed up in one word:

HIS.

His servant. His friend. His daughter.


Photography courtesy of Wix Media
You are His! He owns you. You are adopted and forever His child. He sent His Son to die for you, save you, and redeem you! Just imagine Him looking at you, pointing His finger at you, saying your name, and then saying, "You are MINE." Forever. And then He engraves your name on His hand.

In our local church in South Asia, one of the men has a tattoo on each of his forearms with his children’s names - Tia and Samarth. This brother chose to engrave his children’s names on his body as a symbol of his love for them for all to see. Every child longs to be cherished by his earthly father. When we lay down our old, sinful identities and are saved, God adopts us into His family and our new Heavenly Father completely fulfills our deepest longings. Even if our earthly fathers failed us, we can have that longing for love and acceptance supernaturally fulfilled by our Heavenly Father. This has been my experience, and it is both powerful and freeing!

What does it look like to be freed from living for the approval of others? In my life, it has resulted in:

  • Less time spent thinking about myself and more thinking about God’s grace and power.

  • Less filtering, and more sharing my fears and failures.

  • Having “thicker skin,” so criticism from others doesn’t knock me down.

  • Fewer attempts to manage people’s impressions of me.

  • Less fear of failure, and more readiness to step out in obedience and faith.

  • More mental capacity to think about loving others well.

  • Freedom from achieving.

  • Freedom to slow down and enjoy moments with people.

  • A greater desire to share my freedom in Christ with others.

Sisters, where are you finding your sense of identity and security today? Do you consistently feel like you aren’t doing enough? Are you (even subtly) trying to prove your worth to others, yourself, or to God? Do you carefully choose your words around others to put your best self forward? Do you spend more time than you would like to admit perfectly crafting images and captions for social media posts? If so, the Bible calls this idolatry, because Jesus Christ alone is to be high and exalted in our lives. Repent of this sinful way of thinking and beg the Holy Spirit to set you free from it. By faith continue fighting those thoughts when they sneak back into your mind.

“For am I now seeking the approval of man, or of God? Or am I trying to please man? If I were still trying to please man, I would not be a servant of Christ.” Gal. 1:10


Embrace your identity as His daughter. You do not need the approval of others. You do not need to earn God’s approval. Today and forever you are loved and precious in your Heavenly Father’s sight because of Jesus.

I’m Shanee. I’ve been serving and living in South Asia with my husband and three kids for the past 15 years. I love teaching God’s Word to others, and especially to those in unreached places. I enjoy pretty much anything with my family – being outside, exercising, books, and recently (due to quarantine) movies.


Please submit any questions or comments for Shanee in the contact form below.

Are you fluent in a language other than English and interested in translating this article? Please submit your translation in the contact box below.

Comments


bottom of page