top of page

Freed

By Christianna Hellwig


Photography courtesy of Meiying Ng (Unsplash)

Broken, shamed, and guilty,

Empty am I,

Shaken, shattered, filthy,

"Help me," I cry!


What though I walk the world a thousand times,

What though I sing in praise ten-thousand rhymes,

What though I give my all to thousands poor…

Yet would I need Thee, Lord, as much and more.


Beaten, bruised, and tortured,

Hungry am I,

Tempted, tried, forsaken,

"Hear me," I cry!


E'en though the tempest rages in my soul,

E'en though the best should fail to make me whole,

E'en though I lie untended and unwept,

Yet I am well if by Thee I am kept.


Rested, loved, and happy,

Holpen am I

Ransomed, rescued, welcomed,

"Praise Him," I cry!


When the story of my life is past,

When I cross that golden strand at last,

When my weary war with sin is won,

Then shall I hear Thy welcome cry, "Well done!"


Christianna Hellwig is a professional violin, voice, and piano teacher to the capital city area of North Carolina where she lives with her family of ten. Time that she does not spend teaching or composing music is spent writing, singing, doing things with her brothers, baking, hiking, reading, dancing, or any similar activity. Christianna's goal is to live her entire life for God's glory and in so doing, add value to the lives of others. Please submit any questions or comments for Christianna in the contact form below.


Are you fluent in a language other than English and want to translate this article? Submit your translation in the contact box below. Thank you!

Comments


bottom of page